Cookie Dough Oreo

Cookie Dough Oreo

I just saw this video Nytimes did about the new Cookie Dough Oreo (i feel the need to just write that again, the new COOKIE DOUGH OREO).  I was very impressed by this video.  The video was informational, interesting, and fun.  The design aspects were fairly simple, using just pink, green, and white background and simple images of Oreos and ingredients to help tell the story.  I thought it was an awesome “news” piece, and went on to watch a lot of other Nytimes videos like this.  Not only are the videos super cute, but they offer compelling ideas that make you think.

On another note, I need to try these Oreos! I’ve been hearing about them for a few weeks now but haven’t gotten around to buying a pack.  After seeing this video and learning that there aren’t actually many of the ingredients found in cookie dough in the Oreos, I’m only a little less inclined to go out and buy some.   I mean I’ve loved butterfinger candy bars since I can remember, and when I learned that the chocolate coating on them isn’t real chocolate but “choclatey” artificial flavored coating, that honestly hasn’t stopped me from still indulging in the candy from time to time.  It was so interesting how the video pointed out that actual taste isn’t the only important factor for “flavor themed” produces.  Often the company only needs to have an intriguing flavor name/idea and switch up the packaging to make sales.  In other words the quality of the product really doesn’t matter all the much, which is a weird idea!  However it’s easy to see that this is true, because although I have yet to hear anyone rave OMG THIS TOTALLY TASTES LIKE COOKIE DOUGH IN AN OREO reviews of the new cookie, I continue to see countless Instagram posts with friends showcasing their endeavors with the new limited oreo flavor.  It’s just so funny how even though no one has told me they are that great AND from this video I learned that there are no cookie dough ingredients in the Oreos, even I still want to try them!  I don’t know if this is good marketing or just my deep love and desire for anything labeled “cookie dough” but I’m going to go out on a limb and say it’s probably both.

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a comment